More

Rugby Golf Club

Sat 13
16ºC
Sun 14
16ºC
Mon 15
16ºC

Course Status

Rugby: COURSE OPEN - Club buggies available

COURSE HISTORY

RUGBY GOLF CLUB OPENED IN 1891 AND WAS ORIGINALLY KNOWN AS "THE RUGBY LINKS". THE COURSE WAS SPLIT WITH SIX HOLES ON THE LAND ON THE NORTH SIDE OF CLIFTON ROAD (ONLY VERY RECENTLY CONVERTED TO HOUSING) THESE WERE ABANDONED IN 1935 AND INCORPORATED ON LAND THAT WAS OBTAINED FROM RUGBY TOWN COUNCIL, TOGETHER WITH LAND ADJOINING THE MAIN PORTION OF THE COURSE. THIS MADE THE COURSE MORE COMPACT. THE NEW LONG TERM LEASE NEGOTIATED WITH THE COUNCIL THEN SECURED THE CLUBS FUTURE.

IN 1941 THREE OF THE 18 HOLES TO THE EAST OF THE OXFORD CANAL WERE REQUISITIONED FOR AGRICULTURAL PURPOSES TO HELP MEET THE WAR EFFORT. TOWARDS THE END OF 1947, WITH NO HOPE OF REGAINING THESE THREE, IT WAS DECIDED TO CONSTRUCT A COURSE WITH 18 HOLES ON THE REMAINING LAND.

ACCORDINGLY, THE WELL KNOWN GOLF PROFESSIONAL AND FIVE TIME OPEN WINNER, JAMES BRAID, WAS INVITED TO HELP THE CLUB. HE VISITED IN 1949 AND A COMPREHENSIVE SCHEME OF ALTERATIONS AND IMPROVEMENTS WERE AGREED. THESE INCLUDED THE ADDITION OF 3 NEW HOLES, NOW THE 3RD, 11TH AND 14TH, PLUS THE LENGTHENING AND RE-ROUTING OF PARTS OF THE COURSE, ALONG WITH ADDITIONAL BUNKERING. THE RECONSTRUCTED COURSE WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED ON THE 14 MAY 1949 WITH AN EXHIBITION MATCH, WHICH IS THE LAYOUT STILL IN PLAY TODAY.

THE IMPOSING AND IMPSESSIVE DISUSED RAILWAY VIADUCT WAS OFICIALLY PURCHASED BY THE CLUB FROM BRITISH RAIL IN 1989 FOR THE SUM OF JUST £1 HAVING BEEN PART OF THE RUGBY TO MARKET HARBOROUGH LINE UNTIL IT’S CLOSURE IN 1966. THE VIADUCT STILL STANDS TODAY AND IS MAINTAINED BY THE CLUB, OFFERING A STUNNING AND UNIQUE BACKDROP TO NUMEROUS HOLES.





Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.